Amongst the regions with an ordinary Statute, Molise is the smallest and youngest of the peninsula. Only in 1963 did it achieve its autonomy following a breakaway from the Abruzzo region.
From a geographical point of view, the territory of Molise comprises hill zones and mountainous reliefs. It is crossed by 5 rivers: the Sangro, the Trigno, the Volturno, the Biferno and the Fortone, together with a number of smaller rivers and three artificial basins which, in their turn, have generated three lakes. The inhabited areas are located in the mountainous regions because, in the past, Molise was subject to Barbarian invasion from which the mountains provided a refuge. Each of the towns of Molise tells its own history, through the remains of castles, alleyways, churches, fortresses and ducal palaces. Some examples are: the Cathedrals of Termoli and Larino, the late medieval abbey of San Vincenzo al Volturno, the Romanesque Churches in the province of Campobasso etc.
The Molise region has developed remarkably during the last 10 years but notwithstanding this, the agricultural and artisan activities still predominate on the countrys economy such as copper working which is still one of the most lively traditions.
Molise offers sea, mountains, lakes, rivers, hillsides and a vast selection of accommodation facilities: hotels, farm holiday, farmhouse, residence self- catering accommodation, b&b, rooms for rent, holiday homes, camp sites and tourist villages; even with the passing of time, the Molise region still manages to transmit the traditions of once-a-year which are visible and tangible in every corner.

Campobasso and environs Isernia and environs